Angebote zu "Literary" (3 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

The Vagina: A Literary and Cultural History , H...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

From South Park to Kathy Acker, and from Lars Von Trier to Sex and the City, women´s sexual organs are demonized. Rees traces the fascinating evolution of this demonization, considering how calling the ´´c-word´´ obscene both legitimates and perpetuates the fractured identities of women globally. Rees demonstrates how writers, artists, and filmmakers contend with the dilemma of the vagina´s puzzlingly ´´covert visibility´´. In our postmodern, porn-obsessed culture, vaginas appear to be everywhere, literally or symbolically but, crucially, they are as silenced as they are objectified. The Vagina: A Literary and Cultural History examines the paradox of female genitalia through five fields of artistic expression: literature, film, TV, visual, and performance art. There is a peculiar paradox - unlike any other - regarding female genitalia. Rees focuses on this paradox of what is termed the ´´covert visibility´´ of the vagina and on its monstrous manifestations. That is, what happens when the female body refuses to be pathologized, eroticized, or rendered subordinate to the will or intention of another? Common, and often offensive, slang terms for the vagina can be seen as an attempt to divert attention away from the reality of women´s lived sexual experiences such that we don´t ´´look´´ at the vagina itself - slang offers a convenient distraction to something so taboo. The Vagina: A Literary and Cultural History is an important contribution to the ongoing debate in understanding the feminine identity. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Polly Lee. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/adbl/021170/bk_adbl_021170_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
Unspeakable: The Things We Cannot Say , Hörbuch...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

As a teenager, Harriet Shawcross stopped speaking at school for almost a year, retreating into herself and communicating only when absolutely necessary. As an adult, she became fascinated by the limits of language, and in Unspeakable she asks what makes us silent.From the inexpressible trauma of trench warfare and the aftermath of natural disaster to the taboo of coming out, Shawcross explores how and why words fail us. From the mountains of Nepal to New York´s theatre district, she travels the world meeting people who constantly wrestle with language. She studies the work of George Oppen, a poet who couldn´t write a line for 25 years; interviews Eve Ensler, whose play The Vagina Monologues gave voice to the truths of female sexuality; and meets the founders of The Samaritans, who have been listening silently to those in need since the 1950s.A beguiling mix of memoir, history, literary criticism and investigative journalism, Unspeakable is a moving and unprecedented study of the power of silence. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Harriet Shawcross. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/cnon/000733/bk_cnon_000733_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
Let´s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly Tru...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013 For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we´d like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let´s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include: ´´Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel´´, ´´A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband´´, ´´My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking´´, and ´´And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane´´. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Jenny Lawson. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/peng/001878/bk_peng_001878_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot